Reader of 500 new books

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body- Joseph Addison

For over the period of 7 years, I have goal myself that I will read more than 100 new books each year. Within 7 years I have read a total of more than 500 books.This year I  goal myself to read more than 103 new books.
I read to satisfy the edge of curiosity in me. I believe reading is a good addiction. The more I read, i just can’t stop anymore, I am guilty of being a book drunkard.
Books have unique way of stopping time in particular moment- Dave Eggers 
Reading has bought me unknown friends all over the world. Many authors I  spend time conversing with them through their work.
I have come to comprehend so many things around the world, through the choice of books I have been reading. 
I am mostly interested in research books and autobiographies. I have recently grown fondly of African literature as well.
As an Author and Book Blogger, it’s important to learn from those who are better than me.

Writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.
As a founder of a book club called Virtuous Women Book Club, reading is good but gathering with other readers is necessary. During our book club session, we exchange knowledge and share wisdom. It becomes a remarkable time to treasure.
I have vow I will not stop reading and writing lol. This is who I am. In books i find who I am. Reading books i have managed to drink from the valley of wisdom shared by elder generation. 
Maya Angelou is a great inspirational writer to me. I have read many of her books and I see more of her in me. I love what she once said ‘ when I am writing, I am trying to find out who i am, who we are, what we’re capable of, now we feel, now we lose a stand up.’ 
Lastly the lesson I have learnt; reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily often helplessly into another’s skin, another’s  voice and another soul.

thank you 
Instagram@ Mpume_afrika/ ireadwhatilike 
Facebook@ iread whatilike 
LinkedIn @ Nompumelelo Gcaba 

One thought on “Reader of 500 new books

Leave a Reply

