Courageous 

‘The journey between what you were and who you are now becoming, is where the dance of life really takes place’ I love this quote by Barbara De Angelis. Today I engage with this phenomenal bestselling author Mdu Mathenjwa, a man who has proven that in life one can make it against all odds.

If a nation loses its storytellers, it loses its childhood- Peter Handke 

Me: Why writing?

Mdu: writing has been a loyal comforter to me since the age of 15. It is therapeutic to me.whenever I bleed words, I find peace and stability.

Every secret of a writer’s soul, every experience of his life, every quality of his mind, is written large in his works- Virginia Woolf 

Me: Why did you write Mysterious Pregnancy at this time?

Mdu: This is a little personal and abstract. After being burnt to ashes at the age of 22 by sulphuric and nitric acid, I lost all hope in life. I spent seven months in hospital and still had no hope for anything great in my life. There came my son L.J everything changed. I then found pregnancy being a mystery and a concept more than what we perceive it. Pregnancy is a dream that one wants to achieve, vision that ought to materialise. My pregnancy them was when I fought for my life not to die while drowning in acid. Another pregnancy was to be able to face society post accident, the list is endless, and pregnancy remain a mystery.

[Smiles] Nompumelelo, you must understand everyone is pregnant, and as soon as the child is birthed, another pregnancy comes in, as long as you live.

To get through the hardest journey we need to take only one step at a time, but we must keep on stepping- Chinese proverbs 

Me: What do you think about the revolution in writing?

Mdu: I think writing has evolved to an extent that as writers we lack to keep up. Writing is serious business, as far as I am concerned, especially in this technologically evolving era. I do not think we are keeping up with the evolution as writers.

Write.Rewrite. When not writing, read. I know of no shortcut- Larry L. KingWD 

Me: What projects are you currently working on?

Mdu: Besides a large number of interesting known and unknown authors. We are preparing for a one day seminar titled: WRITING CAN BE BUSINESS – Write|speak|Sell, which will take place this year.

Life: Rule it- Mdu Mathenjwa 

Me: What are your plans as a writer? 

Mdu: I will be an international keynote speaker, especially spreading the power of knowing self, which is within the content of my writing.

In my experience through numeral engagement with this author, I have come to release this: writing is the answer to everything. It’s the streaming reason for living. To note, to pin down, to build up, to create, to be astonished at nothing, to cherish the oddities, to let nothing go down the drain, to make something, to make a great flower out of life, even if it’s cactus. Thank you Mdu Mathenjwa for sharing your journey with us.

You can follow Mdu by following this links: 

Email mdu@grashyo.co.za

Website: http://www.grashyo.co.za

xoxo 

Nompumelelo Afrika 

Leave a Reply

